healthygirlshappyhour

A corporate girl's guide to surviving the 3 pm candy jar

My Healthy Shake

8 Comments

First off, I would like to apologize to anyone that got an e-mail yesterday about my healthy shake! It was supposed to go out this morning. Maybe seeing more pictures and info will make you want to try it even more? Maybe?

As a filling and healthy snack, a good option is to make a healthy shake. It’s one of my favorite snacks and a good way to incorporate greens!

Grossed out yet? Keep reading!

The key ingredient is frozen bananas. They create a creamy texture!

What goes into the blender:
2 cups of loosely packed spinach
1 frozen banana cut into 4-5 pieces
1/2 cup of frozen blueberries
1/2 cup of frozen raspberries
1 scoop of whey protein powder (optional)
2/3 cup of almond milk (any milk will work)

*this makes around 2 glasses full. I’ve tried to make a single glass and it just doesn’t turn out the same so invite someone over to share : )

Blend together until smooth. If the frozen fruit isn’t blending well, add some more almond milk.

You can use any type of fruit you want, however, I have noticed that frozen fruit works best to keep the “shake” texture. Some other delicious combinations I have tried are:

-Banana and peanut butter (possibly with cocoa powder but I haven’t tried it yet)

-Banana and raspberries

-Banana and blueberries

-Banana and strawberries (strawberries are the hardest because they’re so big and then blender doesn’t blend them easily)

-Extra banana (2 bananas) and orange juice makes a cream-sicle shake!

For even more of a fruity flavor, you can sub 100% fruit juice to half of the amount of almond milk.

Author: healthygirlshappyhour

Two young gals trying to find our way in the corporate world while maintaining our svelte figures

8 thoughts on “My Healthy Shake

  1. These sound delicious! I often add ground flax seed and/or chia seeds to my shakes as well for extra fiber and omega-3’s.

  2. This looks amazing… will have to try it! Love your blog 🙂

  3. Had it was delicious!!!

  4. If you are allergic to bananas what may you usr?

Leave a comment