healthygirlshappyhour

A corporate girl's guide to surviving the 3 pm candy jar

Vegetable Fried Quinoa

Leave a comment

My new obsession recently has been red quinoa. I’m not sure why, but I like it so much more than regular quinoa. I know it’s all mental but just humor me. I think it has better flavor! I’ve been eating quinoa instead of brown rice because of the added protein and it doesn’t take as long to cook. 10-15 minutes simmering, and you’re good to go!

When I was younger, I used to love fried rice. I haven’t eaten it in a while because it now hurts my stomach, but the other night I was craving the scrambled eggs and fresh, crunchy veggies. I just so happened to have a red pepper and snap peas, so I knew it was meant to be. Oh how correct I was. This turned out amazing! This recipe is very simple and will not take a long time to make. Perfect for a quick, meatless meal! This would also go great with grilled chicken or shrimp!

VegfriedQuinoa

Ingredients:

2/3 cup of red or regular quinoa

1 + 1/3 cup of chicken broth or water

1 red pepper

1/2 red onion

1 cup snap peas

2 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp coconut oil

Directions:

Start by bringing the quinoa and chicken broth to a boil. Once it boils, cover the pot and simmer for 10-15 minutes until fluffy with a fork.

While the quinoa is simmering, take 1 tbsp of coconut oil and melt it in a pan. Once melted, add the sliced onion, pepper, and snap peas.

vegfriedQVeggies

Toss in the coconut oil under medium heat until the quinoa is fully cooked. Transfer the quinoa into the pan with the vegetables and add 2 tbsp of soy sauce.

Easy and tasty! Give it a try!

Author: healthygirlshappyhour

Two young gals trying to find our way in the corporate world while maintaining our svelte figures

Leave a comment