healthygirlshappyhour

A corporate girl's guide to surviving the 3 pm candy jar

Breaded Eggplant

1 Comment

Is it me or is eggplant sprouting up in every grocery store? I had never made eggplant before this recipe but something about seeing them everywhere spiked my interest. I have never been a huge fan of eggplant, that is until my mom made eggplant parmesan one night. The trick is, to skin the eggplant before cooking it! Pure genius. I’m not quite sure what I’d do with out her…not eating eggplant I guess!

The outside skin is very harsh on the digestive system which never appealed to my sensitive stomach. But now, I think it’s amazing! Peeled eggplant = happy stomach 🙂

I wouldn’t say this recipe is “healthy” but it is made with wholesome ingredients–just a little heavy on the olive oil. But hey, that never hurt anyone right?

Ingredients

1 medium sized eggplant

1 cup of bread crumbs (I used panko because that’s what I had on hand but I bet whole wheat would be awesome!)

2 eggs

approximately 1/2 cup olive oil

Directions:

Start by peeling your eggplant, then slice it into 1/4 inch slices.

Peeled Eggplant

For the breading, crack the two eggs into a bowl and mix well. Lay a handful of breadcrumbs on a plate.

Take an eggplant slice and dip it in the egg mixture. Once fully drenched, cover with bread crumbs

Pour about 3-4 tablespoons of olive oil onto the pan and turn on to medium heat

Cook each side of the eggplant slices for about 5 minutes until golden brown

Cooked Eggplant

Repeat as many times as it takes to cook all of the eggplant slices.

I ate my breaded eggplant with sauteed mushrooms and red quinoa. I had this over a big bed of greens. This goes wonderfully with a light balsamic dressing or Mariana sauce!

Breaded Eggplant

 

Author: healthygirlshappyhour

Two young gals trying to find our way in the corporate world while maintaining our svelte figures

One thought on “Breaded Eggplant

  1. I like to make this dish with home-made red sauce. After you bread and cook the eggplant just layer it in a glass casserole dish: start with a few ladles of your sauce then add a single layer of cooked eggplant, then some more sauce to evenly cover the eggplant and another layer of eggplant and sauce. Sometimes I add a light sprinkle of grated parmesan cheese..woo hoo!
    This is one of my favorite vegetarian dishes. Thanks healthygirls!

Leave a comment